Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Community and Providers


Awards Program

RBF Banner 

​About the Awards

The 2016 Department of Education RBF Awards recognises and rewards Department of Education staff and volunteers who demonstrate excellence in their roles supporting education.

The awards are an opportunity to publically acknowledge the dedication and commitment of staff and volunteers who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation and talent during 2015.

Nominations were open to all staff who were employed in the Tasmanian Department of Education between 1 January 2015 and 1 January 2016, as well as volunteers.

2016 Award Guidelines

2016 Department of Education RBF Award Winners and Finalists:

See finalist videos and photos​​

School-Based Awards

Principal of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Winner: Monique Carter (Lansdowne Crescent Primary School) 
    Finalists: Troy Roberts (Youngtown Primary School), Sharon Symes (Mowbray Heights Primary School)

Principal of the Year – Secondary

  • Winner: Hamish Cunningham (Woodbridge School) 
    Finalists: Roslyn McGuinness (Bothwell District School), John O’Rourke (Taroona High School)

Teacher of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Winner: Lisa Cook (South Arm Primary School)
    Finalists: Brooke Pepper (Woodbridge School), Toni Tarbath (New Town Primary School)

Teacher of the Year – Secondary

  • Winner: Simone Cunliffe (Rosny College)
    Finalists: Susan Oakden (Elizabeth College), Glenn Schultz (Taroona High School)

Teachers Health Fund Outstanding Young Teacher

  • Winner: Alison Harvey (New Norfolk Primary School)
    Finalists: Callum Hollingsworth (Rosny College), Carmel McGee (Riverside Primary School)

Staff Supporting Learning Awards

School Business Manager of the Year

  • Winner: Rhonda Turner (Collinsvale Primary School)
    Finalists: Tanya Smart (Queechy High School), Donna Terry (Campania District School), 

Support Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Bill Parker (Triabunna District School)
    Finalists: Kathy McInerney (Warrane Primary School), Cathy Ransom (Rosny College)

Professional Support Specialist of the Year

  • Winner: Niki Hussain (Campania District School)
    Finalists: Linda Pearn (Student Support, Southern Region), Jane Shearing (Elizabeth College)


Service Awards (Department–based)

Departmental Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Tina Busch (Coordinator Blended Learning, Curriculum Services)
    Finalists: Kris Klasen (Manager, IT Services), Sarah Williams (Manager Strategy and Planning, PLI)

LINC Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Sabena Lund (Coordinator, Adult Literacy, Smithton LINC)
    Finalists: Sally Stanley (Customer Service Officer, Smithton LINC), Fiona Vagg (Manager, Glenorchy LINC)

Wrest Point Young Departmental Employee of the Year

  • Winner: Alex Silsby (Network Support Officer, Elizabeth College)
    Finalist: Stephen Dodd (Network Support Officer, Learning Services Northern Region), 

Outstanding Team of the Year

  • Winner: George Town Community Hub 
    Finalists: Curriculum Teacher Leaders, teggana Collective


Special Category Award

Telstra Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology

  • Winner: Chloe Simons (Teacher, Southern Support School, eLearning)
    Finalists: Stephen Dodge and Luke Yates (Teachers, Elizabeth College),
    Sam Foster-Davies (LINC Tasmania TAHO), 


Community Award

Volunteers of the Year

  • Winners: Vicki Axton (George Town Child and Family Centre), Jennifer Dare (Clarence Plains Child and Family Centre), Doug McKenzie (Westerway Primary School)

RBF Secretary's Award for Overall Excellence:

  • ​Lisa Cook (​​South Arm Primary School)

Previous Winners and Finalists 

​Key Dates:

28 April  2016: Nominations opened

6 June 2016: Nominations closed

August: Finalists announced

28 October 2016: Winners announced at the Awards Ceremony


Sponsors for the 2016 Awards for Excellence include:

This page has been produced by the Department of Education.
Questions concerning its content may be directed by email to or telephone 1800 816 057.
You are directed to the disclaimer and copyright notice and a Personal Information Protection statement governing the information provided.