Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content





Overview of the Curriculum

Tasmania has joined all states and territories in endorsing and implementing the Australian Curriculum.

From 2012- 2016 implementation of the Australian Curriculum in Tasmanian schools has included English, Mathematics, Science, History and Health and Physical Education from F(Prep) to Year 10, History and Social Sciences F(Prep) to Year 6. History from Year 7 to Year 10 and Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business in Years 7 and 8. 

The remaining learning areas of the curriculum have recently been endorsed apart from some languages. Tasmania will be continuing its implementation according to an agreed timeline.

Teachers are encouraged to begin working with the endorsed Australian Curriculum Version 8.1.

You can view and download information about each of the learning areas on the Australian Curriculum website:

Literacy and numeracy are an important priority across all areas of the curriculum.

Key links for Australian Curriculum information:

Belonging, Being and Becoming - Early Years Learning Framework
Australian Curriculum and Years 11/12
Office of Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification (Year 11/12)
Australian Curriculum
Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)
Implementing the Australian Curriculum in Tasmanian Schools (2016)
Your local school
Curriculum Support Centre [staff access only]



 Curriculum documents

This page has been produced by the Department of Education.
Questions concerning its content may be directed by email to or telephone 1800 816 057.
You are directed to the disclaimer and copyright notice and a Personal Information Protection statement governing the information provided.