Latest News

Award Winners Recognised for Education Excellence

Decorative banner for awards program

We would like to congratulate the 16 winners of the Department of Education Awards for Excellence announced tonight, recognising the work of some of our best public educators, volunteers and staff.

These Awards are a way for us to formally acknowledge the dedication and commitment of the individuals and teams who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation and talent.

These Awards, delivered in partnership with Tasplan, Teachers Health Fund and Telstra, recognise excellence across our diverse education system and the variety of roles supporting learners within schools and communities and it is impressive to the talented and dedicated staff and volunteers working in public education and their focus on improving learning outcomes for our young people. Recognising such excellence is an important step in raising the profile of education in Tasmania, quality education provides all students with the best chance of success throughout their life and puts in place the foundation for future growth and development of our State.

2017 Tasmanian Education Award Winners:

Overall Award

Tasplan Secretary’s Award for Overall Excellence

  • Bronwyn Carroll, School Business Manager, Evandale Primary School

School Awards

Principal of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Meredith Cashion, Principal Nixon Street Primary School

Principal of the Year – Secondary

  • Gill Berriman, Principal Bayview Secondary College

Teacher of the Year – Early Years and Primary

  • Jo-anne Coates, Teacher ECIS, East Devonport Primary School and Child and Family Centre

Teacher of the Year – Secondary

  • Susan Oakden, Teacher Elizabeth College

Teachers Health Outstanding Young Teacher

  • Georgia Salter, Teacher Goodwood Primary School

Staff Supporting Learning Awards

School Business Manager of the Year

  • Bronwyn Carroll, School Business Manager, Evandale Primary School

Support Employee of the Year

  • Kellie Quon, Teacher Assistant Ravenswood Heights Primary School

Professional Support Specialist of the Year

  • Susan Diprose, Senior Social Worker Learning Services Northern Region

Service Awards (Department-Based)

Departmental Employee of the Year

  • Lynne McDougall, Director Disability Programs

LINC Employee of the Year

  • Ellen Lamb, Information Services Coordinator Burnie LINC

Young Employee of the Year

  • Stephen Dodd, Network Support Officer Learning Services Northern Region

Outstanding Team of the Year

  • Bicheno-St Marys Music Teachers Co-operative – Nik Wardlaw and Eliza Spykers

Special Award Category

Telstra Outstanding Use of Innovation or Technology

  • Launceston College STEAM Team – Kent Poulton, Keith Wenn, Amanda Smith, Mark Gleeson, Evan Starky

Community Awards

Volunteer of the Year Award (all 3 finalists recognised for their outstanding contributions)

  • Gary French, Bayview Secondary College
  • Mark Jones, Huon Valley Trade Training Centre
  • Matthew Marshall, Parklands High School

 Photos of all award finalists, including winners, are available for media use at