Latest News

More Schools to Extend from 2020

On Thursday, 22 November the Minister for Education and Training announced the next round of high schools that will extend to Year 11 and 12, following a recent Expressions of Interest process.

This announcement sees us able to provide even more students in Tasmania with the opportunity to stay on and study Year 11 and 12 at their local high school.

  • Dover District School, Kingston High School, Ogilvie High School and New Town High School will extend to offer Year 11 and 12 from 2020, and will join 38 other schools around Tasmania that have already extended to Years 11 and 12, as well as a further five schools that have committed to extending from next year.
  • Dover District School will be delivering on site for the first time in 2020 and will continue to work in partnership with Huonville High School and Hobart College.
  • Kingston High School will be delivering in partnership with Hobart College and Huonville High School.
  • New Town High School and Ogilvie High School will be working in partnership with Elizabeth College.

All EOIs were developed in consultation with their school communities and have a strong focus on increasing retention and attainment outcomes.

This key Government policy is about providing the right mix of senior secondary study opportunities that meet the individual and diverse needs of every student, and importantly, sends a clear message to the Tasmanian community that school doesn’t end in Year 10.

As more and more schools sign up for this initiative, more Tasmanian students have the opportunity to complete their education and achieve a Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE).