Department of Education

The Tasmanian Government Department of Education (DoE) provides essential learning opportunities and services for children and adults. The DoE is responsible for providing public education, vocational education and training, adult and community education, and library and archive services throughout Tasmania.

DoE everyday practice is guided by a commitment to work together to support all learners to succeed as connected, resilient, creative and curious thinkers; learners who will contribute meaningfully to the broader community and who will embody the values of aspiration, respect, courage and growth.

The DoE’s priorities are best expressed through the goals of the 2018-2021 Department of Education Strategic Plan Learners First: Every Learner, Every Day, and the Libraries Tasmania Strategic Directions 2018-2021.

DoE Values: Aspiration, Respect, Courage and Growth.

DoE Goals: Access, Participation and Engagement; Early Learning; Wellbeing; Literacy and Numeracy.

The DoE consists of four separate divisions:

  • Learning
  • Support and Development
  • Strategy and Performance
  • Corporate and Business Services

Each of these divisions is headed by a Deputy Secretary who reports to the Secretary, Department of Education.

DoE services, as at the beginning of 2018, include:

  • 196 Government schools across Tasmania (Kindergarten to Year 12)
  • 12 Child & Family Centres
  • Libraries
  • Early Childhood Intervention Service (ECIS)

The Department of Education: Early Years

The DoE and the Early Childhood Education and Care (ECEC) sector in Tasmania are committed to working together to support children to thrive in strong connected communities through Tasmania’s Strategy for Children – Pregnancy to Eight Years 2018-2021 (PDF, 195KB). The Strategy was co-developed through extensive collaboration with a number of stakeholders, including the Education and Care (E&C) sector. It will help to achieve a collective vision of “Children Thriving in Strong Connected Communities” through a focus on quality, equity and partnerships.

The DoE is responsible for providing educational services to children from birth, and recognises that children benefit from quality early learning. Services offered by the DoE include: Launching into Learning (LiL), Child and Family Learning Centres (CFLCs), Learning in Families Together (LiFT), Libraries Tasmania, and Working Together for 3 Year Olds (WT3).

Working in partnership with E&C services is imperative to support quality learning. This includes supporting successful transitions from Early Childhood Education and Care through to school. To help achieve smooth transitions, the DoE has been working in collaboration with the E&C sector in developing a provisional Policy to guide co-location of Education and Care and Department of Education services.

The Education and Care Unit (ECU), which reports directly to the Strategy and Performance division of the DoE, regulates E&C services (child care) in Tasmania. The ECU is responsible for implementing the National Quality Framework  (NQF) for Early Childhood Education and Care, including administering the Education and Care Services National Law (Tasmania) 2011, and the Child Care Act 2001. The ECU regulates over 230 E&C services under the NQF and licenses 30 services under the Child Care Act 2001.

All Australian governments recognise that quality education and care shapes every child’s future and lays the foundation for development and learning. The NQF was introduced nationally in 2012 to improve the quality of early childhood education and care across Australia. It includes a National Quality Standard (NQS), national learning frameworks (including the Early Years Learning Framework for Australia), an assessment and rating system and a national regulatory system.

Further information about the Department of Education can be found in the Our Department page of the Department of Education website.