Awards Program


Together we inspire and support all learners to succeed as connected, resilient, creative, curious thinkers.

Congratulations to all of the finalists in this year’s Together We Inspire Awards.  Well done to you all!

Being nominated for an award is an achievement in itself and testament to the work being done to support our learners and achieve the Department’s commitment:  to inspire and support all learners to succeed as connected, resilient, creative and curious thinkers.

The Awards program closely aligns with the Department’s core values of Aspiration, Respect, Courage, and Growth that represent who we are as an organisation, and also reflect the attributes our learners will need to be successful.

Across every Department site, service and business unit we are all making a significant contribution, whether it be with children, young people or adults, and having an awards program such as this is not only unique to the State Service, but a terrific way to share our stories; to learn from, aspire to and ultimately grow as an organisation.

Below are our finalists for 2019 – once again, congratulations to each of the finalists, from all of us across the Department.

These awards, an important initiative of the Department, would not be possible without the generous support of our major sponsor Tasplan, and partners Teachers Health and Telstra.

2019 Finalists

Stuart Dwyer – Flinders Island District School – category winner

Bill Jarvis – Claremont College

Cindy-Anne Johnston – Campbell Town District School

Rowena Wilkinson – Early Childhood Intervention Service – category winner

Maddie Hine – Smithton Primary School

Ian Brown – Clarence Plains Child and Family Centre

STEAMing with Kommunity Kids Team – Burnie Library

Scottsdale Primary School Staff – Scottsdale Primary School

Annette Langdon – Glen Dhu Primary School – category winner


Shane Parker – Hobart College

Ulverstone Secondary College Staff – Ulverstone Secondary College

Creating Connections A and B Team – Hellyer College – category winner

Iona Johnson – Risdon Prison, Libraries Tasmania – category winner

Peter Brake – Launceston Library

Making the Difference Team – Burnie Library

Abby Dillon – Austins Ferry Primary School – category winner

Stewart Bell – Beaconsfield Child and Family Centre

Amelia Boughton – Elizabeth College

Dom Monypenny – Hobart College – category winner

Wendy Meek – Bayview Secondary College

Teacher Assistant Team – Huonville High School

Health, Physical Education and Outdoor Education Team – Hobart College

Elizabeth College Advanced Academic Diploma Team – Elizabeth College

Claremont College Wellbeing Team – Claremont College – category winner

The Orb Development Team – Aboriginal Education Services

Matt Eyles – Hobart College – category winner

Teacher Recruitment Taskforce – Human Resources

Sheree Martin – Landsdowne Crescent Primary School

Shelley Charlton – Glenorchy Library

Michael Garner – Cygnet Primary School

Hannah Brand – Waimea Heights Primary School

All finalists are 2019 Award winners

Talking and Language for Kids Team – Riverside Primary School, Trevallyn Primary School and West Launceston Primary School – category winner

Bridport Primary School Staff – Bridport Primary School

Katrina Hutchinson – Claremont College

Hellyer Collective Maths Cluster – Hellyer College and North West Cluster

Latrobe-Kentish Numeracy Leaders – Sassafras Primary School – category winner

Wendy Palfreyman – Risdon Vale Primary School

Elizabeth College Advanced Academic Diploma Team – Elizabeth College

If you have any questions, or would like further advice, please contact the Awards Team at or phone (03) 6165 5682 or (03) 6165 5746

Watch the 2019 finalist videos here.

2018 Together We Inspire Award winners

Past Winners and Finalists