Awards and Scholarships

Young Archies Awards

The Young Archies Awards are modelled on the famous Archibald prize.

The awards are presented in year categories for the best portrait of a person of any age, created by a student in a Tasmanian Government school or college, during the 12 months before the closing date. Portraits submitted can be created in any 2D media, such as a drawing, painting or collage, and must be of someone personally known to the student.

Entries are to be received by the Project Officer by the closing date: Friday 14 August 2020

Schools can post or deliver artwork to: DoE – Learning Events, Level 1 / 199 Collins Street, Hobart TAS 7000

Please see the Information Pack (PDF, 1.21MB) and required Artwork Label (PDF, 132KB) for this year’s competition.

Previous Winners:

  • The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize

    Open to all Year 9 students in Tasmanian schools, the Frank McDonald Memorial Prize has been established to honour Tasmania’s last World War 1 veteran, Frank MacDonald MM.

    The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is open to all students currently in Year 9 in government and non-government schools in Tasmania, as well as home-schooled students at the same year level.

    The prize is a joint initiative of the Tasmanian State Government and the RSL Tasmania.

    Further information about the prize is available online at Department of Communities Tasmania.

    The 2019-2020 winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize are:


    • Amelia Hanson – Riverside High School
    • Chi Canty – Scotch Oakburn College
    • Elijah Hughes – Kingston High School
    • Lachlan Rogers – Taroona High School
    • Melanie Shoobridge – Tasman District School
    • William Zeeman – The Hutchins School


    • Phillip Stanley – MacKillop Catholic College
    • Shelley Hollister – Devonport High School


    • Craig Coutts – Primrose Sands RSL

    Department of Communities Tasmania

    • Kristy Broomhall – Tour Leader

    Parliamentary Representative

    • Guy Barnett, MP

    View the Previous Winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize.

    The Ray Richardson Tasmanian University Scholarship in Education

    The Ray Richardson Tasmania University Scholarship in Education has been endowed by Ms Bev Richardson in memory of her father who was a successful businessman in north-east Tasmania.

    The Department of Education is pleased to be associated with this scholarship which, not only provides a unique opportunity to recipients but also so clearly values and supports teaching and learning.

    This scholarship is awarded each year to a Year 10 student educated in north-east Tasmania, namely Scottsdale High, St Helens District High, Winnaleah District High or Port Dalrymple High, and who is commencing a course with the University of Tasmania that will lead to a career in teaching.

    Scholarship recipients are provided with financial support during their years of study and, upon graduation, they will be eligible for a teaching position with the Tasmanian Department of Education, subject to availability of vacancies.

    The scholarship is administered by the University of Tasmania. Full details and information regarding application processes can be found on the University of Tasmania’s website.

    Contact Details:

    For further information or assistance in relation to the above please contact the School Support Manager on (03) 6336 2360 or via email:

    Tasmanian Training Awards

    The Tasmanian Training Awards are conducted annually by Skills Tasmania. The Awards recognise, reward and honour the achievements of apprentices, trainees and vocational students for their endeavours in gaining the highest standards of knowledge and skills within their industry.

    They also recognise and honour the achievements of employers, small businesses and training organisations for their dedication to providing the highest quality training and improving the skills of the workforce in this State.

    The Hardie Fellowships

    Professor Hardie was appointed Dean of Education at the University of Tasmania in 1946 and remained there until his retirement in 1976. Following the death of Professor Hardie in 2002, a generous bequest of $7.5 million from his estate has enabled the establishment of a Hardie Fellowship Trust. This provides a number of teachers employed by the Department of Education, Tasmania with the opportunity to undertake a period of research or study at an approved university in the United States of America (USA) each year.

    2016-2017 Hardie Fellowship recipients:

    • Susan Bullen
    • Group 1: Sarah Geale and Darren Sangwell
    • Group 2: Joshua Dean and Mark Sivills

    2015-2016 Hardie Fellowship recipients:

    • Group 1: Michael Davy and Andrew Harris
    • Group 2: Jan Hunt, Hayley Noonan, Adam Potito and Judy Travers
    • Group 3: Kelly Dyer, Duncan Groves and Natalie Odgers
    • Group 4: Jenny Dudgeon, Chloe Simons and Andrew Walsh.

    2014-2015 Hardie Fellowship recipients:

    • Group 1: Judith Fahey, Debra Fisher, Trudy Pearce and Jarrod Williams
    • Group 2: Shane Frost, Jill Burrill, Monique Carter and Marcus Cramp
    • Group 3: Dane Hardy, Scott MacCrum, Hayley Noonan and Ben Wilson
    • Group 4: Marie Phillips, Phillipa Clymo, Neil Harris, Catharina Stam and Kenneth Price

    Further Information

    What Matters? Tasmania 2020

    Tasmania writing competition is now complete

    What Matters? is a writing competition that gives Tasmanian Year 5-12 students the opportunity to write about what matters to them in society today. This may involve considering the following questions:

    • What actions do you think should be taken to build a better society?
    • What would you change if you could?
    • What do you want other people to care about?

    Students submit an original written work between 400-600 words in prose or poetry, of either fiction or non-fiction.

    Prizes are awarded in 4 categories: Years 5/6, 7/8, 9/10 and 11/12.  Category Winners receive $350, and $200 is awarded to each category Runner Up.

    In 2020 one category winner was selected as the Tasmanian Overall Winner, with an additional prize provided by the Department of Education.

    All entrants will receive a certificate of participation from the Whitlam Institute.

    For further information the Project Officer can be contacted by phone (03) 6165 6196 or email