Awards and Scholarships for Students

Young Archies Awards

The Young Archies Awards are modelled on the famous Archibald prize.

The awards are presented in year categories for the best portrait of a man, woman or child, created by a student in a Tasmanian government school or college, during the 12 months before the closing date.  Portraits submitted can be created in any 2D media, such as a drawing, painting or collage, and must be of someone personally known to the student.

Entries are to be received by the Project Officer by the closing date: Friday 16 August 2019

Please see the Information Pack and required Artwork Label for this year’s competition.

Portraits will be exhibited at the School of Creative Arts UTAS, Hunter Street, Hobart; Thursday 5 to Sunday 15 September 2019.

Previous Winners:

Alma Lily Stackhouse Scholarship

The Alma Lily Stackhouse Scholarship is awarded annually in celebration of the life of Tasmanian Aboriginal Elder, Mrs Alma Stackhouse and her commitment to the education of young Aboriginal people.

A bursary of $3000 per year is to support a Year 10 Tasmanian Aboriginal student to complete Years 11 and 12.  The applicant must originate from the Furneaux Islands or other remote areas of Tasmania and be pursuing a tertiary pathway to University or other tertiary-level study.

The Department of Education, Aboriginal Education Services, sponsor the Alma Lily Stackhouse Scholarship as a legacy to Aunty Alma’s lifetime for the Aboriginal Community.

The Alma Lily Stackhouse Scholarship was launched in 2008 and is intended to honour her commitment to the value of higher education for young Aboriginal people by providing an annual scholarship for two years to support an Aboriginal student from a remote or rural area to access and complete senior secondary study.  The goal of the scholarship is to facilitate the attainment of the Tertiary Entry Requirement to enter University or other tertiary-level study.  Therefore funds received should be expended towards costs associated with the attainment of the Tertiary Entry Requirement, including, but not restricted to materials, equipment, travel and other costs of living whilst enrolled.

2020 Alma Stackhouse Scholarship Guidelines
2020 Alma Stackhouse Scholarship Application Form

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize

Open to all Year 9 students in Tasmanian schools, the Frank McDonald Memorial Prize has been established to honour Tasmania’s last World War 1 veteran, Frank MacDonald MM.

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is open to all students currently in Year 9 in government and non-government schools in Tasmania, as well as home-schooled students at the same year level.

The prize is a joint initiative of the Tasmanian State Government and the RSL Tasmania.

Information for the 2019 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is as follows:

Further information about the competition is available online at the Department of Communities Tasmania.

The 2018-2019 winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize are:


  • Mia Cooper – Ogilvie High School
  • Nell Hentschel – Bayview Secondary College
  • Lydia Kelly – St Patricks College
  • Griffin McLaughlin – Tarremah Steiner School
  • William Scott – Scotch Oakburn College
  • Jenna Stacey – Mount Carmel College


  • Mel Burnett – Bayview Secondary College
  • Ivor Leonard – Hutchins School


  • Libby Perkins

Department of Communities Tasmania

  • Kristy Broomhall – Tour Leader

Parliamentary Representative

  • Kerry Finch MLC

View the Previous Winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize.

WorldSkills Australia

WorldSkills Australia (WSA) is a dynamic national organisation – for 25 years at the forefront of celebrating and actively promoting the standards and status of vocational training and skills excellence.

WorldSkills mission is to challenge young people, their teachers, trainers and employers to achieve world class standards in work skills and to promote the status of vocational education and training across Australia. Our primary means of fulfilling our purpose is through skill competitions.

WSA competitions operate on a two year cycle. Regional competitions flow into national competitions and national competition winners, if eligible, become members of the international team based on further selection criteria.

WSA is our country’s premier showcase of youth skill and trade excellence. Through a program of competitions, aligned to National Training Packages, WSA works to ensure that today’s young people have the skills and abilities to compete within the rapidly changing global marketplace.

So, if you are under 24 years of age WSA Competitions are for you! Visit the Worldskills Australia webpage for more information.

The Ray Richardson Tasmanian University Scholarship in Education

The Ray Richardson Tasmania University Scholarship in Education has been endowed by Ms Bev Richardson in memory of her father who was a successful businessman in north-east Tasmania

The Department of Education is pleased to be associated with this scholarship which, not only provides a unique opportunity to recipients but also so clearly values and supports teaching and learning.

This scholarship is awarded each year to a Year 10 student educated in north-east Tasmania, namely Scottsdale High, St Helens District High, Winnaleah District High or Port Dalrymple High, and who is commencing a course with the University of Tasmania that will lead to a career in teaching.

Scholarship recipients are provided with financial support during their years of study and, upon graduation, they will be eligible for a teaching position with the Department, subject to availability of vacancies.

The scholarship is administered by the University of Tasmania. Full details and information regarding application processes can be found at the University of Tasmania website.

Contact Details:

For further information or assistance in relation to the above awards and scholarships please phone the School Support Manager on (03) 6336 2360 or e-mail

Tasmanian Training Awards

The Tasmanian Training Awards are conducted annually by Skills Tasmania (Department of State Growth).  The Awards recognise, reward and honour the achievements of apprentices, trainees and vocational students for their endeavours in gaining the highest standards of knowledge and skills within their industry.

They also recognise and honour the achievements of employers, small businesses and training organisations for their dedication to providing the highest quality training and improving the skills of the workforce in Tasmania.

What Matters Tasmania 2019 Competition

What Matters? is a writing competition that gives Year 5-12 students in Government schools the opportunity to write about what matters to them in society today. This may involve considering the following questions:

  • What actions do you think should be taken to build a better society?
  • What would you change if you could?
  • What do you want other people to care about?

Looking for Inspiration? Last year’s winners and finalist essays are online at