The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize

Frank MacDonald MM – born in Ulverstone in 1896 – was Tasmania’s last World War I veteran and the last of the 40th Infantry Battalion raised in WWI. He was responsible for repairing signal lines between battalion headquarters and trenches and received the Military medal for working courageously under heavy fire. He also served in World War II and received the Legion of Honour in 1998. Frank MacDonald passed away on 23 August 2003 at the age of 107.

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is an essay-based competition which commemorates and preserves the meaning of the ANZAC spirit in the Tasmanian community.  The essay competition is open to all Tasmanian Year 9 students, as well as students who are undertaking home education at the same year level.

The Prize

Six Year 9 students will be selected from around Tasmania to take part in the 2022-23 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize. As part of the Prize students will:

  • go on a 10-day Study Tour in April 2023 (incorporating Anzac Day).
  • visit the Australian War Memorial in Canberra.
  • attend educational meetings held once a month in the lead up to the Study Tour (November 2022 to April 2023).

The Study Tour will travel to sites and landmarks of wartime, either within Australia or internationally (subject to appropriate travel clearances and public health advice).  The group will be led by a Tasmanian Government Tour Leader, and be accompanied by two teachers, a parliamentarian and an RSL representative. The State Government will meet the cost of travel, transfers, travel insurance, accommodation, tour activities, and meals for each winner and the chaperones.

How to enter

Information on how to enter is available here:

Students are to submit their entries to their school.


Entries close 5.00pm Friday, 16 September 2022


For further information on the 2022 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize contact the Project Officer by phone (03) 6165 6196 or email

The 2021 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize recipients and representatives were:

Year 9 Students

Year 10 Students


  • Caitlin Midson, Devonport High School
  • Jon Lewis, Parklands High School

RSL Tasmania Representative

  • Christopher Parker, Lindisfarne RSL Sub-Branch

Tour Leaders

  • Terese Smith, Department of Communities Tasmania
  • Tanya Brown, Department of Communities Tasmania

View the Previous Winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize.

Further information about the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize can be viewed on the Department of Communities Tasmania website.