National Disability Strategy 2010-2020

The National Disability Strategy 2010-2020 is a 10 year national plan for implementing the obligations under the UNCRPD and improving life for Australians with disability, their families and carers.

The Strategy outlines the following six priority areas:

  • Inclusive and accessible communities
  • Rights protection, justice and legislation
  • Economic security
  • Personal and community support
  • Learning and skills
  • Health and wellbeing

As part of its commitment to the Strategy, the Tasmanian Government developed Accessible Island: Tasmania’s Disability Framework for Action 2018-2021, which is a whole of government approach to policy and planning, service delivery and evaluation that seeks to remove barriers and enable people with disability to enjoy the same rights and opportunities as other Tasmanians.

Aligned to Accessible Island, the Department of Education has developed its Disability Action Plan 2018-2021. As evidenced through our Disability Action Plan, we are committed to delivering on the vision of Accessible Island to see Tasmania as a fully inclusive society that values and respects all people with disability as equal and contributing members of the community.